David Smith Invents

David Smith Invents

Item #: 11241
Author: Susan Behrends Frank
Hardcover


The iconic American sculptor and Abstract Expressionist artist David Smith (1906-1965) was one of the most important artists working in the 20th Century.  Very few publications dedicated to his creative output however, currently exist.  A painter-sculptor in the tradition of Matisse and Picasso, Smith focused on welded steel sculptures while simultaneously working inventively in two dimensions, in paint, ink, or tempera.  David Smith Invents is the first book to focus on the output in all media of the artist's last fifteen years, a period in which he explored concave and convex forms in works welded from steel tanks and pipes that he bought by the railcar-load as industrial waste.  Associate Curator for Research at The Phillips Collection Susan Behrends Frank opens a window onto the unusual working process employed by Smith, who was once a welder in an automobile production line.

112 pages, The Phillips Collection/Yale University Press 2011



 Tell A Friend


 Add to Favorites

Your Price: $19.99


 
Site Info
Customer Service
Company Info
Account Info